Where’s My Backpack?

This will probably be continued tomorrow at least, or this blog post will become longer than my NaNo novel.

Today I’m going to let you all in on a big part of my life.

THE SIMS.

No, I am not joking. Yes, I am a dork and a nerd and a freak. You haven’t figured that out by now? (Also, I didn’t get around to making a new banner for the blog this weekend. It was freezing cold by California standards and my numbness affected my creativity. Or something like that.)

The Beginning

Once upon a time, That Girl was a child that saw The Sims at various stores. She likes video games involving little people and occasional death (I was a beast at Oregon Trail). After much convincing, her father decides it will not scar her for life. Considering almost all of the expansions had been released at this point, that dates this back to around… Hold on while I check Wikipedia…2002 or 2003. That might not sound that long ago to some of you, but that was nearly half a lifetime ago for me.

That Girl liked The Sims. She liked it even more after she discovered cheats and figured out how to keep her sims from peeing on the floor. She accumulated a complete collection of the original game.

v. 2

At first, That Girl was slightly scared of The Sims 2. She was used to her old, pixely friends. But, after playing at a friend’s house, she discovered that the new version would not bring death and evil to our planet.

Welcome to the Age of Enlightenment, folks.

Specifically, she liked the story telling aspect of the game. While this had been in the original game, it was way more awesome. This was like all the little stories she had acted out with her Polly Pockets growing up, only bigger and better. And without clothes that tear.

Sadly, I don’t think I can say I would be where I am now if it wasn’t for this game. All will be revealed as we continue following this evolution, my cro-Magnon friends.

She began many stories that were never published, or were only just begun. It was through this process that she became better introduced to another magical piece of software.

Photoshop

Alright, Sims is not solely responsible for this. My dad is a graphic designer. I’ve grown up with my friends Photoshop, Illustrator, and InDesign. I remember being in 5th grade and using the clone brush to give a picture of my hamster a dozen feet.

But Sims gave me a more practical use for Photoshop, and encouraged me to expand my knowledge of it. It started with just using the program to make cooler looking covers. I’m not going to dig any of these up for you, as they are scary, and I care too much about my readers to do that.

This led to my Photobucket. It is now 34 pages and 678 images large. The first image, a masterpiece avatar dates back to… Wait. It’s not dated. Um… Let’s approximate this to… 2003 or 2004.

Forums

By this point, I’d joined my very first Sims related forum- The Sims 2 Writer’s Hangout. AKA the Hangout for short. This led to pictures like:

It brought the age of my involvement in contests. This was followed up by my first major serious sims story. I mean serious because it was a much larger production than the past stories had been.

Around this time I also began dabbling in “skinning” or the creation of clothes, hair, etc. for sims and building a forum which I promptly abandoned. I don’t even remember starting it, honestly. Maybe I never opened it… The only proof is the banners and things in my photobucket.

We’re beginning to reach the era when my skinning, photoshopping, and sim creating skills really took off. We had Emma, who entered the third Top Model at the Hangout. This one was for teen sims. I’ll leave you with some pictures of her and some clothing creations.

11 Responses to Where’s My Backpack?

  1. Jess says:

    I’m a Sims 2 player too! As I recall, I started playing the original at my cousins’ house, then the Sims 2 at the same cousins’ house, and then finally at the end of 2007 I was allowed a laptop running Windows so I could start playing it myself. It’s certainly addictive, especially the story-making part. My habit with the Sims 2 is to play legacies, which create stories by themselves. 🙂

  2. purplume says:

    Your tech skills are inspiring. There are so many things we can do in this world.

  3. Jennifer says:

    this made me smile. Mostly because I am a huge nerd. Not necessarily about the Sims, but believe me, there are plenty of nerdisms in my own life. Enough so that I recognize the common spirit 🙂

  4. securi7y says:

    You know, I’ve played tons of games in my lifetime, but I’ve never tried Sims games (except for Sim Theme Park, but my cumulative time playing that was probably only an hour).

    You think picking up number 3 for my Mac would be a good idea, or should I play the games chronologically? The newness of 3 is very enticing.

    PS Have you played Spore?

    • thatgirl007 says:

      It depends. I would say to skip 1. It’s a classic but… It’s so outdated now. If you’d rather have the game look nicer and have elements like pets and Bigfoot, I’d pick 2. #3’s gameplay is more advanced but there is so much more custom content for #2. But if you’d prefer more sophisticated and realistic gameplay, pick #3.
      No, I haven’t. It looks interesting though.

    • ~ifer says:

      We have played Spore, and it is a lot of fun for a while, but then it quickly becomes routine, at least for us. The lack of interaction with other people kinda turned us off from it.

Leave a Reply

