Vote 2010

Now, I’m not particularly big on politics, but I like to stay up to date with current events. I like being an intelligent person. That, and I’m trying to come up with some more blog posts for the two days I’m missing a post for. Haha, only one day of absence now! It’ll probably stay that way since I’m having one of those chaotic weeks where everything is going on. Or at least it feels like that and it’s only Monday.

November 2nd is election day! While I’m unable to vote yet, I still have opinions. If you don’t care about politics, skip this post and scroll down to something more interesting to you. I’m not going to go over everything on the California ballot because I have neither the time nor the interest in it. I’m blogging but I’m not blogging much…

Prop 19

The ever controversial pot prop. I’m personally against this. I was somewhat split, unsure if there really was a right answer to this question, until one part of the voters guide changed my mind. Basically, if California votes yes on Prop 19, the federal government could blackmail the state into making pot illegal again by denying them money for education. Like our education system isn’t crappy enough. How can they do that, you say? Federal law states that marijuana is an illegal substance. Federal law trumps state law. I’ll leave my opinion on this proposition at that.

Prop 20 and 27

If you vote yes on both of these, you are an idiot. They are the complete opposite of each other and you are the most counterproductive person in existence. Either vote no on both, or yes on one and no on the other. I personally favor 20.

Now, currently the state government has it set up so that we have a commission that draws the boundaries for districts for state employees or something along those lines. However, this commission has not yet begun to work. Every 10 years they will use the census results to draw up new boundaries AKA redistricting.

Yes on Prop 27 means eliminating this committee.

Yes on Prop 20 means that not only will the committee continue to exist, but they will also draw the districts for House representatives.

Why do we need this committee?

Without a nonbiased committee, the district boundaries are drawn up by the state. As a result of this, something called gerrymandering exists. This means that boundaries can be drawn by a party to favor that party, so that they can ensure their candidate continues to be elected. This is how we get representatives that have been in the House since the Stone Age. This is also not very democratic, as the whole point of House representative elections is that in theory, the House could have an entirely new population after an election.

 

Leave a Reply

