Close Encounters of the Application Kind

As I prepared to send in the first of my apps, I had a very close encounter. An encounter that made me put on my blogging hat and tell you all about it, so you do not suffer the same fate. Now, I’ve been applying early wherever I can. The kind where you turn in your app early, get a decision early, but are not then strapped to a truck and driven off to the school. Early with freedom.

One of the schools I was about to send my application in to I had selected early decision for. I was curious when I’d find out my answer, and if I hadn’t accidentally missed the cutoff for it, so I read the instructions.

And discovered that Early Decision is not the one where you are strapped to a chair, but might as well be. Their rules states that I would receive my admission response in mid-December, and they would need my response by January 15th.

GIRL SAY WHAT?

By January 15th I will be relaxing (yeah right), twiddling my thumbs while I wait for March when I’m getting most of my results back. By January 15th I will have no idea what schools want me.

Thank god I read the directions. This girl is not applying Early Decision.

Next week: I fully intend to actually write about the feeling of sending in the first of my apps. By the time the post comes out, hopefully I’ll have sent all my apps in.

One Response to Close Encounters of the Application Kind

  1. Pingback: The College Chronicles Index « Uncreative Writing

Leave a Reply

